REVISION

Premiere REVISION Berlinale Forum 2012

Documentary
by Philip Scheffner

D 2012, XDCam/35mm, 106′ colour

A documentary becomes a cinematic REVISION. It reconstrues the circumstances that lead to the death of two men in 1992 on a field near the German-Polish frontier. With increasingly disturbing closeness, Scheffner interweaves landscape and memory, testimonies, files and investigations.

SYNOPSIS

On June 29th, 1992 a farmer discovers two bodies in a corn field in the North East of Germany. Police enqiries lead to the fact that the dead men are Romanian citizens. During the attempt to cross the EU border, they have been shot by hunters. The hunters claim that they had mistaken the people for wild boar. Four years later, the trial begins. It will never be proved, which of the hunters has fired the fatal bullet. The verdict: not guilty. German Press Agency dpa reports: “From Romania, none has arrived for the rendition of judgement.”

The police files contain the names and adress of Grigore Velcu and Eudache Calderar. However, their families never even got to know, that a trial had been held.

With REVISION, a legally terminated crime case becomes the subject of a cinematic revision. Places, individuals, and memories are being connected, and form a fragile pattern from different versions and perspectives of contemporary European history.

CREDITS

Script   -   Merle Kröger, Philip Scheffner

Director   -   Philip Scheffner

Director of Photography   –   Bernd Meiners

Sound   -   Pascal Capitolin, Volker Zeigermann

Edit   -   Philip Scheffner

Producer   -   Merle Kröger / pong – Kröger & Scheffner GbR

Coproducers   -   Meike Martens / Blinker Filmproduktion GmbH, Marcie K. Jost, Peter Zorn  /worklights media production, Doris Hepp / ZDF/ARTE

Production and development were funded by:

Development   –   FFA, DEFA

Production   -   Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung, Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein, Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, Deutscher FilmFörderFonds

German Distribution   -   RealFiction

World Sales -   pong Kröger und Scheffner

REVISION

Premiere REVISION Berlinale Forum 2012

Dokumentarfilm
von Philip Scheffner

D 2012, XDCam/35mm, 106′ colour

Ein Dokumentarfilm wird zur filmischen REVISION. Er rekonstruiert die Umstände, die 1992 zum Tod zweier Männer auf einem Feld nahe der deutsch-polnischen Grenze führten. Mit zunehmend beklemmender Dichte webt Scheffner ein Netz aus Landschaft und Erinnerung, Zeugenaussagen, Akten und Ermittlungen.

INHALT

Am 29. Juni 1992 entdeckt ein Bauer zwei Körper in einem Getreidefeld in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Ermittlungen ergeben, dass es sich bei den Toten um rumänische Staatsbürger handelt. Sie werden bei dem Versuch, die europäische Außengrenze zu überschreiten, von Jägern erschossen. Diese geben an, die Menschen mit Wildschweinen verwechselt zu haben. Vier Jahre später beginnt der Prozess. Welcher der Jäger den tödlichen Schuss abgegeben hat, lässt sich nie beweisen. Das Urteil: Freispruch. Dpa meldet: „Aus Rumänien ist niemand zur Urteilsverkündung angereist.“
In den Akten stehen die Namen und Adressen von Grigore Velcu und Eudache Calderar. Ihre Familien wussten nicht, dass jemals ein Prozess stattgefunden hat.

Mit REVISION wird ein juristisch abgeschlossener Kriminalfall einer filmischen Revision unterzogen, die Orte, Personen und Erinnerungen miteinander verknüpft und ein fragiles Geflecht aus Versionen und Perspektiven einer „europäischen Geschichte“ ergibt.

CREDITS

Buch   -   Merle Kröger, Philip Scheffner
Regie   -   Philip Scheffner
Kamera   –   Bernd Meiners
Ton   -   Pascal Capitolin, Volker Zeigermann
Schnitt   -   Philip Scheffner
Produzentin   -   Merle Kröger / pong – Kröger & Scheffner GbR
Koproduzenten   -   Meike Martens / Blinker Filmproduktion GmbH, Marcie K. Jost, Peter Zorn  /worklights media production, Doris Hepp / ZDF/ARTE

Produktion und Entwicklung wurden gefördert durch:
Entwicklung   –   FFA, DEFA
Produktion   -   Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg, Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung, Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein, Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, Deutscher FilmFörderFonds
Verleih   -   RealFiction
Weltvertrieb   -   pong Kröger und Scheffner