Borschemich (new)

Documentary

by Christine Uschy Wernke

Germany 2011, HD, 15′

Niklas is twelve years old, and he loves his village: Borschemich in the lower Rhine region. Mainly because of his grandpa who owns a farm there on which Niklas spends most of his free time. For as long as he can remember, Niklas has been helping his grandfather on the fields and with the animals.

He is especially fascinated by the big machines, and the tractor which Niklas can already drive all by himself. These idyllic days are numbered, though: Within a year, all of Borschemich village will be torn down – there are brown coal deposits under the village. All will be scooped away: The church, the old water castle, the linden tree that has survived many centuries, as well as Niklas’ house and his grandpa’s farm. In their place, there will be noting but a huge gaping hole in the ground.

We are following Niklas during his last visits to the farm, and the subsequent move into the family new home in an urban development called „Borschemich (neu)“ („Borschemich (new)“ in English)

Made for the dok you competiton. See the film here.

CREDITS

Writer & Director  -  Christine Uschy Wernke

Cinematography  -  Paul Pieck

Sound  -  Claas Benjamin Berger

Editor  -  Felix Bach

Mixing  -  Claas Benjamin Berger

Score  -  Christina Zenk

Animation  -  Kerstin Unger

Titles  -  Daniel Rakete Siegel

Production Manager  -  Nima Kianzad

Producers  -  Meike Martens / Blinker Filmproduktion; Janna Velber / BOOGIEFILM GbR

Associate Producers at WDR  -  Andrea Ernst and Birgit Keller-Reddemann

Cast  -  Niklas Sonnen, Hans Hahn and more.

Produced by Blinker Filmproduktion GmbH and BOOGIEFILM GbR, co-produced by KHM Köln for the WDR

Formats  -  HDCAM, DigiBeta, BluRay; 16:9 PAL, HDV, Color, Stereo

Duration  -  14′ 24”

Language  -  German; Subtitles English

RESUMÉ Christine Uschy Wernke

Christine Uschy Wernke is 34 years old and originally hails from a suburb of Osnabrück – which is the North German flavor of « in the middle of nowhere ». Life was actually nice there, though, but terribly boring, as well. So she left : First to Melbourne, when she was 15 years old, later to Bonn and Hamburg to become a journalist. She realized quickly, though, that newspaper work put certain limits on her creativity, so she started looking for alternatives and gathered her first filmmaking experience in various glamorous positions as production assistant or as «that chick who does the making-of». Eventually, she ended up in film school.

Currently, Uschy Wernke is working her first feature film script. She also films commercials and works as a child actor coach and associate producer. «Borschemich (new)» is her second «excursion» into documentary film making.

FILMOGRAPHY

Borschemich (neu) -  2010, documentary short, 14’24; Writer/director

Schiffe versenken -  2010, fictional short film (Young TalentSponsorship NRW),             21’38, 16mm, Writer/director

Pausenhofmärchen -  2009, short children’s film made for the „In Via“ project at Cologne schools. 11’00, Writer/director

Grenze -  2007, Short fictional film, 24’50, HD, irector and producer

Auf nach Takatukaland -  2006, documentary, 23’00, DV, Director

Kakao und Maroni -  2006, short fictional film, 10’50, 6 mm, director, co-writer

Awards and achievements

„Grenze“ won the Young Talent Award at the Selb film festival. It was co-produced by the ZDF and shown on arte in 2008. The film was also shown on various national and international festivals (e.g. Fresh Film Fest Karlovy Vary 2008, new talents biennale Köln 2008) With this film, Uschy Wernke was invited to the Berlinale Talent Campus 2008.

„Auf nach Takatukaland“ was shown at the Stranger than Fiction Festival in Cologne in 2006 and at the Short Cuts Cologne Festival 2007.

„Kakao und Maroni“ was bought by arte and shown there in 2007.

Borschemich (neu)

Dokumentarfilm
von Christine Uschy Wernke

Deutschland 2011, HD, 15′

Der zwölfjährige Niklas liebt sein Dorf Borschemich am Niederrhein – und seinen Opa, auf dessen nahe gelegenem Bauernhof er einen großen Teil seiner Freizeit verbringt. Seitdem er denken kann, hilft Niklas seinem Opa bei der Arbeit auf den Feldern und mit den Tieren.

Besonders interessieren ihn die Maschinen und der Trecker, auf dem er alleine herumfahren darf. Doch die Idylle ist in Gefahr: In einem Jahr soll ganz Borschemich dem Erdboden gleich gemacht werden, weil unter dem Dorf Braunkohle liegt. Zusammen mit der Kirche, der alten Wasserburg und der Linde, die viele hundert Jahre alt ist, werden dann auch Niklas‘ Wohnhaus und der Bauernhof abgebaggert und in ein riesiges gähnendes Loch verwandelt. Wir begleiten Niklas während seiner letzten Besuche auf dem Bauernhof und während des Umzugs in das neue Haus der Familie in einem Neubaugebiet namens „Borschemich neu“.

Entstanden im Rahmen des dok you – Wettbewerbs. Den fertigen Film sehen Sie hier.

CREDITS

Buch & Regie  -  Christine Uschy Wernke

Kamera  -  Paul Pieck

Ton  -  Claas Benjamin Berger

Schnitt  -  Felix Bach

Mischung  -  Claas Benjamin Berger

Musik  -  Christina Zenk

Animation  -  Kerstin Unger

Titel  -  Daniel Rakete Siegel

Produktionsleitung  -  Nima Kianzad

Produzentinnen  -  Meike Martens / Blinker Filmproduktion; Janna Velber / BOOGIEFILM

Redaktion  -  Andrea Ernst und  Birgit Keller-Reddemann

Mitwirkende  -  Niklas Sonnen, Hans Hahn u.a.

Produziert von Blinker Filmproduktion GmbH und BOOGIEFILM GbR, in Koproduktion mit der KHM Köln im Auftrag des WDR

Formate  -  HDCAM, DigiBeta, BluRay; 16:9 PAL, HDV, Farbe, Stereo

Länge  -  14′ 24”

Sprache  -  deutsch

Untertitel  -  englisch

VITA Christine Uschy Wernke

Christine Uschy Wernke, 34 Jahre alt, kommt ursprünglich aus einem Vorort von Osnabrück, also aus dem norddeutschen Niemandsland. Das Leben dort war schön natürlich, aber auch verdammt langweilig. Mit fünfzehn nach Melbourne, dann nach Bonn und Hamburg, um Journalistin zu werden. Schnell wurde ihr klar, dass ihre Kreativität in den Zeitungsredaktionen durch das Diktat des Formates beschränkt sein würde. Also machte sie sich auf die Suche nach Alternativen …wurde Produktionsassi, Making Of-Tante… landete schließlich an der Filmschule. Derzeit arbeitet sie am Drehbuch für ihren ersten langen Film. Uschy Wernke dreht außerdem Werbung und arbeitet als Kindercoach und Producerin. „Borschemich neu“ ist ihr zweiter „Ausflug“ in die Welt des Dokumentarfilms.

FILMOGRAPHIE

Borschemich (neu) -  2010, kurzer Dokumentarfilm,   14’24, Buch und Regie

Schiffe versenken -  2010, geförderter Kurzspielfilm (Nachwuchsförderung NRW), 21’38, 16mm, Buch und Regie

Pausenhofmärchen -  2009, kurzer Kinderspielfilm im Rahmen der Initiative „In Via“ an Kölner Schulen; 11’00, Buch und Regie

Grenze -  2007, Kurzspielfilm, 24’50, HD, Regie und Produktion

Auf nach Takatukaland -  2006, Dokumentarfilm, 23’00, DV, Regie

Kakao und Maroni -  2006, Kurzspielfilm, 10’50, 16 mm, Regie, Buchmitarbeit

Auszeichnungen und Preise

„Grenze“ gewann den Young Talent Award beim Filmfestival in Selb, wurde vom ZDF koproduziert und lief 2008 auf Arte. Der Film nahm an diversen nationalen und internationalen Festivals Teil (u.a. Fresh Film Fest Karlovy Vary 2008, newtalents biennale Köln 2008). Uschy Wernke wurde mit diesem Film zum Berlinale Talent Campus 2008 eingeladen.

„Auf nach Takatukaland“ lief auf dem Stranger than Fiction Festival in Köln 2006 und beim Short Cuts Cologne Festival 2007.

„Kakao und Maroni“ wurde von Arte gekauft und 2007 dort gezeigt.